End of a Sueno

So time is almost done.  One thing to close out my service was the Construye Tus Suenos conference.  I did not receive a completed plan, but my girl got to come and be inspired by the conference.  We have talked and she will finish, and I will help her over the internet, to make sure she takes the opportunity next year.

This year it was in a different location then the last 2 years.  No more cabana zone (not that we were in a cabana), now we were on the malecon.  The hotel was very comfortable, except for the arctic temperature (at least that is how I view it, commenting the night before last that polar bears might be comfortable here).

The jovenes for the majority were animated, well behaved, and inspiring in the plans they had as youth.  We had previous participants who had one share their stories and offer advice.  We had charlas on professionalism, networking, presenting, and a one minute introduction.  There were off course dinamicas and color teams.  I was on verde and it went well, we almost won, but we lost, in my opinion due partly to the fact that the leaders kept wanting to change the team chant right before we were supposed to train it.  Also some animosity was created with the red team over some point.

This year we had all women winners, an artist who makes 3d paintings inspired by flowers, a bakery, and a library/bookstore/cafeteria.  All the finalists did great presentations, and one even used prezi (which was super neat to watch).

On the third day we promoted microfinance through a microfinance fair (with representatives from ADEMI, ADOPEM, FDD, ECLOF International), a talk by Franciso Abate of Fundacion Dominicana de Desarrollo, and panel of bank representatives field questions.

As always the days were full, and a rest was needed after.  After I sent my joven off home, I went to the office and changed bags, because on Thursday when I left for the conference I was leaving my site for good.

DSC_0012 DSC_0040 DSC_0063 DSC_0056DSC_0083DSC_0023DSC_0020DSC_0012-001DSC_0007  DSC_0099

 

Leave a Reply

