A Dominican Fix

So I knew my time with my billabong thongs (flip flops in American English) was coming to an end.  They have been worn enough to be perfectly shaped to my feet, which is quite a joy.  They have been worn enough to lose all traction on the bottom and make walking on the unbroken sidewalks of Cambita rather perilous.  They have been worn enough that very few kangaroos are left (don’t worry the ones that are no longer there, went to live on a farm).  I believe they have had a good run, several countries and many years.

However, they broke when I was at the beach.  And they broke when we were going to cross two rope/wire and board bridges and a walk down a rocky trail to a waterfall.  So I walked with one foot in a flip flop and one without, because I didn’t need both to feel unprotected.

DSCN3608

When I got back to all my clothing, I took the safety pin out of my dress and pinned together the plastic strap that had broken.  Dominicans often fix their broken flip flops with safety pins or wire, so I was just following the custom and could still wear the flip flops in public.  Then I was being lazy (did not feel like buckling shoes that stupidly buckle on the outside of my foot making it harder as I am not a contortionist) and conscious of the weather (i.e. closed toed shoes were not something I felt like putting on either), so I wore them to my chemicals class.

No post on the class because:

We simply made nail polish remover, super easy – acetone, glycerine, and water.

I only had 4 students that day.

And most importantly, I did not have a sd card in the camera and have no clue how to connect it directly to my computer.

On the way the plastic broke some more.  So I go off to the side where I was walking, place the gallon of acetone in my hands down and the bag that held the other gallon, the glycerine, and other things, I take off the broken flip flop and as I am about to reposition the safety pin, an old man sitting in a chair takes it out of my hands and does it how he sees best.  I have to say that was not surprising.  Although I was perfectly capable of handling it and willing to, often a Dominican will want to lend a hand and not alert you by saying “oh, let me” but by taking the object.  It had happened before with a yarn tangle on a bus.

The fix stopped working for the 2nd time this morning, I think I will have to say goodbye.  Luckily the amount of time I need flip flops for is very short, they will not come in handy in the States in November and I should be getting a care package with new ones at that point anyway (and more importantly considering it will be November on the East Coast – Tim Tams).

Leave a Reply

