Time for another song

You know my blog has been looked at by many strangers (well maybe only the one post) because of the teke teke song.  I feel bad that I did not give a better explanation of the meaning.  With that I thought it time to share another song.  This is actually one I enjoy.  It is very fitting for the current weather.  It is not as bad as being in the capital where I had an oven room, but the sun is strong.  I have become dominican and started charting my path by the shade spots.  Although I have not become so dominican that I bring an umbrella for shade (although I have seen other volunteers do that). I first learned of the song through Ronelka singing it near me (she then set about teaching me lines).  The repeat of “what heat, what heat” just struck a cord.  The sun feels closer down here, and beats on you.  Luckily the house is set up so that my room is cool enough to relax in.  It’s not a new song, but it is a meringue that actually catches my fancy because it just fits August and September in the DR (at least where I live.  This time I can give you a true translation of the meaning.

Tono Rosario Que Calor

Toño Rosario – Que Calor

Que calor en la ciudad, What heat in the city,

Que calor, que calor, What heat, what heat,

Es imposible de aguantar, It is impossible to endure

Que calor, que calor, What heat, what heat,

La ropa llega a molestar, The clothing begins to bother,

Que calor, que calor, What heat, what heat,

Que lindo debe estar el mar, How pretty the sea should be,

Que calor, que calor, What heat, what heat,

Tu mano quiero yo tomar I want to take your hand

Y por la playa caminar. And walk along the beach.

Que calor, que calor. What heat, what heat,

Que calor en la ciudad, What heat in the city,

Que calor, que calor, What heat, what heat,

El viento no quiere soplar, The wind does not want to blow

Que calor, que calor, What heat, what heat,

Las calles llegan a quemar, The streets begin to burn

Que calor, que calor, What heat, what heat,

Un lugar fresco para estar, A fresh place to be

Que calor, que calor, What heat, what heat,

Tu mano quiero yo tomar I want to take your hand

Y por la playa caminar. And walk along the beach.

Que calor, que calor. What heat, what heat,

Que calor en la ciudad, What heat in the city,

Que calor, que calor, What heat, what heat,

Es imposible de aguantar, It is impossible to endure

Que calor, que calor, What heat, what heat,

La ropa llega a molestar, The clothing begins to bother,

Que calor, que calor, What heat, what heat,

Que lindo debe estar el mar, How pretty the sea should be

Que calor, que calor, What heat, what heat,

Tu mano quiero yo tomar I want to take your hand

Y por la playa caminar. And walk along the beach.

Que calor, que calor. What heat, what heat,

Tu mano quiero yo tomar I want to take your hand

Y por la playa caminar. And walk along the beach.

Tu mano quiero yo tomar I want to take your hand

Y por la playa caminar. And walk along the beach.

Y por la playa caminar. And walk along the beach.

Leave a Reply

