A parade!


 Well I had to wait for pictures to write about this, because I remember people asking for pictures and also I do have a very nice camera that I want to get my use out of.  So here is how this actual event began.  I was sitting on the balcony reading and then I heard a rhythmic pounding.  I don’t immediately respond beyond a slight interest.  What slight interest translated to in this instance was a brief wondering about the sound and no change in position.

I was however spurred into greater action by the reactions of the Dominicans.  While a parade of vehicles is not what I would call uncommon, my neighbors (these are whose action I have observed on multiple occasions, I would not want to generalize) will respond to a certain level of activity or noise.  So Ronelka and a friend come out on the balcony to look.  It was stated that the roof might have a better view, but apparently was not worth the effort since it has been raining and pouring off and on all day, so it would be wet.  The level of noise also did not make it worthy on the part of my household of exiting the house. So some of the neighbors went up to the street corner to watch.  Our household works as whichever exit is closest, then out on the sidewalk, and then if it is a big parade or a candidate that is supported the street corner.

Eventually some motoconchos round the corner and a few have Llegó Papa flags.  Papa is the candidate Hipolito Mejia who was president before the current president, Leonel Fernández. After a bit of lag the cars and trucks appeared.  First the one carrying a drum, which put to rest the question of the pounding and then finally some really loud music.

I was excited not to be living in the states outside of the capital for the 2012 election.  So instead I live in the DR outside the capital for their 2012 election (at least there is hope that it will finish in May).  And here in Cambita a couple times a month there are motorcades such as I described above.  Although today’s was a short one.  It will switch off between the two main candidates.  When I commented to Felix, Ronela’s fiance, that I did not understand the point it was just a bunch of noise.  He told me that people get involved in them because one of the main sources of jobs for the people of Cambita is the ruling political power and so they pick a party and hope that the party will get elected and they will get a job out of it.

Luckily the shows we watch are on Mexican cable, so I at least don’t have to watch political smear ads when checking out America’s Best Dance Crew.  Those definitely make election time in the states a form of torture.

Just to be clear, I did not want to live through election time in the states, but I still am a citizen and will vote.

And for your information I am wearing a sweater, because with the rain it has been a bit cool today and the tank top did not cut it, but since I am at the house I do only have flip flops on.


.

Leave a Reply

