Transport!

So I need to get back in the habit of sharing in this format.  I will point out that my actually “diary” to record how this time in my life was going was not written in from November to March.  And there is no real reason for that considering all I need it a working pen and light of some form.

Well I have some things coming up, but nothing huge to share about what I am doing.  So I thought I would share instead just some of the normal parts of my life.

Okay so there are 3 main ways I leave my pueblo.  1st: Is when going somewhere with the family (not often, but has occurred) I get in the back seat of the truck (referred to as a guagua – hint not the only shape those come in).  Since Nelson (h-dad) got a new truck, my legs actually have room which is nice.

2nd:  Used often when I am going up to communities such as Mucha Agua or La Colonia I get to ride on the back of a motoconcho.  If Rafeal is going, I get a free ride, if not I pay the driver.  Don’t worry I always wear my Peace Corps provided moto helmet and never wear a skirt so I have to sit side saddle.  The road to Mucha Agua makes Rhode Island roads appear smooth.  It was asphalt at one time, but when I asked when I got an answer saying it was paved when Trujillo was in power.  I’m not saying that means it has not been in that state since then, just that at this point that is the information I have.  I have grown less stressed over the ride, but still feel sore after a round trip.  To get to La Colonia you take another road out of Cambita.  This road is a different story.  It’s probably the best paved road I have been on in this country.  Of course, going up to visit Caitlin in Sumbi past La Colonia I determined that it didn’t matter how nice the rode, after about 40 minutes I hit my time limit on a moto.  The motos come in varying conditions.

Now some people who have known me for a while, may be surprised by this.  But minute I am no longer a volunteer, I want to try driving one.  I never even wanted to ride on one back in the states, but after being dependent on them as a form of transport, I want to try driving one.  With my obnoxious heavy helmet of course.

3rd: So if I am heading down to San Cristobal to either as a transfer point or to accomplish something I need to be in a city for (such as go to la Sirena a walmart equivalent) I need to grad a carro publico for that.  Carros publicos are cars you pay for a seat in.  They have standard routes decided by the government (unlike motos which you request a specific location).  The fun part of them is a carro publico has 6 available seats, however is the size of a normal sedan from probably 15 or 20 years ago.  That means 4 people in the back seat and 2 in the front passenger seat.  Sometimes when I get out one of my feet has gone to sleep which makes it a little awkward to walk away.  Most of these cars are not in great condition and parts of the door may be exposed.  You can tell if the car is a carro publico by a sticker, in the case of Ruta Camibita, it is a red and yellow sticker on the windshield.  I can’t say it’s comfortable, but it’s available and fits my budget.

Well that’s as much as I will write about that for now.  So I will just tell a short tale of dinner the other night.  I got fritas y salami (fried smooshed plantain pieces and fried salami) and I looked at the salami and thought pac man.  So I asked my youngest h-sister Ronelka if she knew pac-man.  She said no.  I then pointed to my salami and mimicked with my hand the chomping motion and said something about eating things and a game and then she agreed she did know what I was talking about and we both laughed.  It’s amazing sometimes how little words actually need to be involved with communication.  And here is the dinner, so you can tell me if your mind would have immediately gone to pac-man or it is just another way I am – we’ll use the term special.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

