About 2 hours left

Of me not being a Volunteer.  Today I report for staging.  If you want staging defined go to this wiki description.  I am very excited but also nervous.  I wish I had another day or could just jump ahead.  But it is necessary and I will just have to go.

The schedule is report to the hotel by 12:30 PM and then pre-orientation activities.  Try to get sleep as early as possible because for a 6:00 AM flight out of National I have to check out at 2:00 AM.  And if the flight to the DR is on time I will arrive around 11:30 AM AST (not the same time zone, but is the same time) .  So no change in time to blame sleepiness on.  I am told there will be clapping when the plane lands, and feel concerned because what makes it worth applause.  Here is a map to put the idea in your mind about how close I am to the US.

Oh I felt I should explain the name of the blog for anyone who is translating it.  No I have not gone blond.  Although in Spain rubia is used or hair color, in the DR it is a reference to my skin color.  And with a majority of my ancestry being British, I am a pale creature.  Although a little tanner after a trip to the shore.

So after I arrive in the DR I will go off with the group for a night and the following day meet my host family.  I have weeks of language, cultural, and job training in Santo Domingo and other locations then on October 28, 2011 I will be sworn in to serve as a Community Economic Adviser Volunteer to serve until October 28, 2013.

Well that is all for now.  I cannot guarantee much access during training, but am told internet access should improve after.  So there may not be updates anytime soon.  I did my best to take a picture so everyone can put a current image in their minds of me.

1 comment
  1. Hannah said:

    I am so proud of you! I was going to text you to meet up Tuesday, but I forgot you didn’t have your cell. I love your blog name, and feel happy to understand it w/o translation. I’m sure they next two years are going to be full of triumphs and trials, but it is going to be amazing, whatever happens. I’m so proud (and a little jealous), I know you are probably homesick, shocked by the pace of the language and funny words and wondering what you’ve gotten yourself into by now, but I know you can do it! Update to let us know you’re ok!

Leave a Reply

